[Travel/Korea] Yonsei University campus and Sinchon

I spent one month at Yonsei University studying Korean language back in the summer of 2011.

Here is a look at the campus:

This is where I went to every morning (except weekends) for Korean classes — the Korean Language Institute. It is quite a nice building complete with air-conditioning, a corner with computers for students to use, a canteen, and also a link way with shops selling stationary, mobile phones etc.

entrance to KLI

entrance to KLI

The canteen upstairs only sells Korean food, such as Sundubu Jjigae (Tofu stew), Samgaetang (Ginseng chicken soup), rice with marinated chicken etc. The prices are quite affordable.

food from KLI canteen

food from KLI canteen

Beyond KLI, there are many other buildings (whose names I do not know) in the campus. I did not manage to enter every one of them, but I was awed by how majestic they looked, partly because our universities in Singapore look nothing like that. The buildings at Yonsei remind me of those old castles out of a Harry Potter movie, or rather, something that I would have expected to see in England rather than in Asia.

I noticed that many of these buildings have plants covering the external walls. Not sure if this was intentional or the inadvertent work of nature, but the greenery give the buildings a more ancient feel while helping to cover up any cracks in the walls at the same time.

There are also many statues around the campus. Looking back, I wish they had conducted a campus tour for us because I realise I still do not know much about Yonsei. I ended up taking a lot of pictures without knowing the significance of the objects that I was looking at.

There is a small park/forest near the KLI. Good place to have a stroll or enjoy some fresh air, or to de-stress when studying becomes a pain.

 

The campus is located at Sinchon, and the Sinchon train station is an estimated 15-min walk from the main gate. Walking from the KLI to the train station will take you at least 30 mins, but the walk is actually quite manageable because you will be walking downhill. However, it is better to take the Yonsei shuttle bus on a rainy day instead because there is hardly any shelter along the way. The Yonsei shuttle bus takes you directly to the train station, and it’s free!

The road junction outside the main gate

The road junction outside the main gate

Beyond the gates of Yonsei lies the exciting and bustling area called Sinchon. Here, you can find eateries that will leave you spoilt for choice, bakeries, noraebangs (karaoke rooms), convenience stores, dentists, hair salons, opticians etc.

A church in front of the main gate

A church in front of the main gate

Restaurants

Restaurants

Artwork along the street

Artwork along the street

Live octopus! Didn't dare to try it

Live octopus! Didn’t dare to try it

Spicy rice cake and kimbap!

Spicy rice cake and kimbap!

Sinchon is conveniently located on Line 2 of the subway system and is only a few stops away from other popular areas like Myeongdong and Dongdaemun. No worries about having nothing to do! I also recommend visiting the shopping area around Ehwa Womens’ University (it is just one stop away from Sinchon station). The clothes there are very trendy and affordable!

2 thoughts on “[Travel/Korea] Yonsei University campus and Sinchon

  1. Hello! I’ll be heading to Yonsei KLI this june 🙂 Would love to hear about your experience and have got some questions for you as well. Let me know if you are open to exchanging some emails perhaps? Thanks!

    1. Hi! I would love to talk about my experience, but unfortunately, I’m struggling to cope with academics and other real life stuff at the moment (and probably for the next few months), so I don’t think I’ll have the time. There are a lot of other blogs out there where you can find much more information about KLI though. I was only there for 1 month under a special programme that was a tie-up between Yonsei and my university, so I don’t think I know enough about regular KLI classes that I can share with you either. Sorry 😦
      I hope you will enjoy your experience there!

Leave a Reply

