Lee Jun Ki is back!

3 more days! THREE more days till the premiere of Lee Junki’s new drama “Two Weeks”!

I’m a huge Lee Junki fan by the way. He was the one that introduced me to the amazing world of Korean dramas with “Iljimae” back in 2008. I have seen all his dramas ever since. I don’t think it will be a stretch to say that he has made a huge impact on my life — if not for him, I wouldn’t have studied the korean language, which means I would not have gone to Korea, and neither would I have made so many awesome friends in university thanks to Korean classes and Korean club.

I remember feeling just as excited last year over his comeback drama “Arang and the Magistrate” (which I’ve rewatched again recently). His new drama this time round is reminiscent of his 2007 action drama “Time Between Dog And Wolf”. I wasn’t too impressed with that show because I hated the female lead, so I’m glad the female characters this time are no fragile damsels in distress. Rather, our hero is the one in distress lol.

Just a quick summary, “Two Weeks” is an action thriller that will take place within the span of, well, two weeks. Lee stars as Jang Taesan, a gangster who discovers that he had a daughter with his ex-girlfriend, and the child needs his help as she is suffering from leukaemia. As luck would have it, he gets framed for murder and finds himself on the run. Will he be able to prove his innocence and make it in time to save his sickly daughter?

I know the story sounds cut-and-pasted from the recently ended “Mandate of Heaven” by his ex-colleague from “My Girl”, Lee Dongwook. Which is why I refuse to watch Mandate in case it influences my opinion of Two Weeks. I liked the way the writer handled “49 Days” (although I utterly hated the ending ;~;), so I think “Two Weeks” is in safe hands. “49 Days” was already excellent, but with the shorter time-frame this time round, I expect more heart-throbbing moments and adrenaline rush.

Argh, why is Wednesday not here yet?!

In the meantime, here are some videos to drum up the excitement.

Section TV interview with the cast:

9-min preview:

Two Weeks press conference:

Leave a Reply

