Liebster Award! For me?

liebster

Yeah, my first reaction to receiving a Liebster Award nomination was “huh?”, followed by “what’s that?”

I don’t mean to sound like a stuck-up blogger (if I happen to sound like one), but honestly, this was so out of the blue for me, and I never expected to get nominated for any award that I didn’t know existed. After all, I feel that I haven’t been blogging often enough to deserve any award. Moreover, what initially started off as a travel blog eventually became a blog for me to fan-girl about my Korean dramas and my biases, so I should have some demerit points for having a lack of focus in my blog.

Anyway, after some researching about the Liebster Award and head-scratching, I want to thank Tiffany Love from Love Bug’s Obsession for nominating me! As per the intentions of the award, it is indeed a great motivation for me to continue blogging, knowing that there are actually people out there who bother to read my ramblings. So once again, thank you! I have many things that I want to blog about, but I always seem to lack the motivation to do so. Maybe things will change for me now! I hope 😀

So here goes.

The Liebster Award is given to rookie bloggers to show our appreciation and to give them some encouragement. I personally don’t like rules, but there are several rules involved:

1. Each nominee link back the person who nominated them.
2. Answer 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

First off, I’ll answer the questions that have been posed to me.

Questions by Tiffany Love from Love Bug’s Obsession:

1) What inspired you to first start your blog?

I initially wanted to blog about my travel experiences in South Korea, since I’ve been to the country three times. I wanted to document all the beautiful memories I have of the country lest I forget them. Also because I’ve seen my fellow friends blogging about their travel experiences, and I thought it would be a good idea to do the same since my dream is to travel around the world, and I do enjoy writing. At the same time, I also had this burning desire to voice out some of the thoughts I have about the Korean dramas I watch.

2) What would you say is the hardest part about blogging?

Striking a balance between these two loves of mine — travelling and watching dramas, proved to be difficult. I had hoped to give an equal share of posts on my blog to both, but anyone can see that my blog is now heavily skewed towards fan-girling instead. Maintaining discipline to update my blog regularly is also difficult, due to real life commitments, and also plan laziness.

3) Have you ever encountered bloggers slump and if so how did you overcome it?

I’m not sure if this can be considered a slump, but like I mentioned above, I find it hard to blog on a regular basis sometimes. Initially, I blogged under the assumption that no one would read my blog, so I can post as and when I feel like it. But as I gained more followers overtime (not a lot, and I kind of wish it won’t hit 100 because it then becomes pressurising) and talk to fellow bloggers, I somehow grew a sense of obligation to keep this blog alive. Also, after I watch a drama or movie, I’ll naturally have many thoughts about it, so I end up writing a post 🙂

4) Is there a drama character that has the same personality traits as you?

Hmm, this is hard as I’ve never ever thought of this or noticed it. I don’t think there are any, because most characters from kdramaland are quite unrealistic, am I right to say that? I see myself as a very quiet person who has a lot of thoughts in my head, but they somehow fail to translate into actual conversations when I meet people. Is there such a character like that? I wish I was bad ass or feisty like some of the female kdrama leads so that I can snag myself a handsome chaebol boyfriend too!

5) Which actor or actress do you feel is underrated or less well known?

Ji Chang Wook! Ok, I know he is well known in Korea, but not when it comes to international audiences, although things seem to be changing somewhat with his performance in Empress Ki. It remains to be seen if his star will shine brighter from now on. Also, I think Lee Joongi is seriously underrated in my country, although Korean dramas and Kpop are all the rage here. He may be an A-lister, but I feel that the spotlight is no longer on him these days. I’m waiting for him to regain his former glory like how it was during “The King and the Clown” era. Joo Sang Wook is another one who seems to have the potential to be a leading man but he has always been playing second fiddle. Luckily, things seem to be looking up for him now.

6) If you could change the ending of any drama, what would it be and why?

I would change the ending of Warrior Baek Dong Soo, where Yeo Woon stops being an assassin and lives happily ever after with his buddy Dong Soo. Simply because the bromance between the 2 male leads was way more sizzling than their romance with the girls. I’m also tempted to change the heartbreaking ending of Royal Family to a happier one where Ji Hoon gets to live in happiness and enjoy the riches of the JK Group with his teddy bear and Insook noona. I thought it was unfair that they should have such a sad ending after suffering so much. If I’m allowed to be greedy, I would like to change the ending of 49 Days too, because the ending just ruined what would have otherwise been my number 1 favourite kdrama.

7) What is your favorite post that you have written?

This is hard, because I don’t think there’s such thing as a “perfect” post, and there’s always room for improvement, like I could have organised my thoughts better, or touched on a certain point, etc. But I admit that I do have a sense of satisfaction reading my own posts sometimes, not because I thought I wrote extremely well, but because I managed to write so much!

8) Which is harder to write, drama recaps or reviews?

I’ve not written recaps before, but I think recaps definitely look much harder to write.

9) Do comments and viewers really matter to you as a blogger?

No! Ok, it would be a lie if I said that they don’t matter AT ALL, because they do serve as a form of encouragement that there are actually people out there who are interested in what I write. But I certainly did not start this blog with the intention of gaining a huge following of readers. In fact, I would feel burdened if too many people start having an interest in my blog, because I’ll then have to be more mindful about what I say and self-censor myself, which defeats the original purpose of setting up this blog to air my thoughts. Having more attention also means I’ll be obligated to update my blog more often to satisfy readers. I don’t want my life to revolve around my blog.

10) If you weren’t a blogger, what would you be doing instead?

I’ll be watching my dramas and cursing at the screen. Or flooding Soompi with my lengthy posts. Or spending my time doing more meaningful work like studying keke.

Questions by brightfotini from Bright Little World

1. Why do you like dramas so much?

Because they serve as an escapism from the troubles of our real world. Just like how our fantasies were filled with Disney cartoons in the past, I see dramas as merely an “upgraded” and more realistic version of these fantasies. Dramas can also be quite educational hehe.

2. What was your first drama? If you hadn’t liked it would you still have continued watching dramas?

Iljimae!! The SBS version. I liked Lee Joongi from then on, and I even went on to obsess over Kpop and Korean culture. If I didn’t like it, I’ll probably still be watching Hong Kong movies and dramas. But given how popular Kdramas are these days, I think it was only a matter of time that I got sucked in one way or another.

3. Give us one tip for balancing everything out- real life and watching dramas and blogging, please?

I guess time management and the ability to prioritise are crucial. I may sound like a wet blanket, but I think I’m quite a pragmatic person, so real life matters take precedence if there’re urgent matters to settle. Once you settle your real life matters, then you can decide whether to watch dramas or blog if you have the inspiration. If you have free time, just do what your heart tells you. Clichéd much?

4. Have you ever tried soju or makgeolli?

Yes, I’ve tried both. I really don’t like soju. I think it tastes like thinner, so I don’t understand how Koreans can drink it like it’s water. I prefer makgeolli. It just tastes so much better!

5. What are the top 5 places you would like to visit one day?

MBC Dramia because it’s a must-go for every kdrama fan, Switzerland (especially Lucerne) and New Zealand (North Island preferably) for the scenery, the Netherlands in spring to see the flowers, and Wat Rong Khun in Thailand because it looks like a building out of a sci-fi movie.

6. Tell us 5 random facts about yourself.

I like noodles!

I hope to direct my own drama series one day. (LOL)

I always think my future looks bleak and I’m doomed to singlehood.

I wish I was less socially awkward.

Throw me into the sea and I’ll drown. (I can’t swim)

Questions by BetsyHp from Creating Volumes:

1. If you had one k-drama to use to convert some young innocent into a fellow k-drama fan, what drama would that be? (Or TW-drama or J-drama, if you’d prefer…)

This is HARD, because it ultimately depends on that person’s preferences. Maybe “Two Weeks” for action lovers, or “My Girlfriend is a Gumiho” for those who like rom-coms.

2. What drama trope would you most like to experience?

Pardon my shallowness, but I’d be happy to be the undesirable poor girl who will have an epic romance with a kdrama Prince Charming.

3. If you could hang out for a whole day with a drama character, what drama character would you choose?

Hmm, maybe it’s because I’ve been watching Empress Ki lately, but I wouldn’t mind hanging out with Emperor Ta Hwan I think. Although he’s weak, childish and clingy, but he’s the kind who will give his undivided attention and devotion to his beloved, which is what a lonely person like me needs I think. Lee Eun Sung from New Heart seems like a good choice too because he’s fun and really, REALLY cares for you. I would like to drink his half-coffee-half-milk drink (“커피 반, 우유 반, 반! 반!”) or admire his teddy bear collection.

4. What advice would you give to a brand new blogger?

Don’t care about whether others will read or like your posts or not. Just blog whatever interests you most. It’s hard to sustain without real interest.

5. Ocean, lake, or river?

Huh? I don’t have any preference. Maybe river, because I can’t swim. Chances of dying in a shallow river are slimmer I guess?

And here are my nominees! I know these blogs have probably received nominations already, but I really enjoy reading them, and I don’t follow many in the first place.

Nominees:

Creating Volumes

Bright Little World

The Drama Corner

Obsessive Compulsive (k)drama Disorder

A Splash of Inspiration

My Questions!

1. If you could travel back in time, what would you like to change?

2. Do you have any plans to learn the Korean language? If you have already done so, do you have any tips on how to improve your Korean language ability?

3. Which actor/actress/singer would you like to meet in this lifetime?

Okay, I’m not going to list too many to save you the time and trouble. I’m also not insisting that you have to answer my questions. They are optional!

Once again, thank you for the nomination, and I hope this will spur me on to continue blogging for a long time and become a better writer!

7 thoughts on “Liebster Award! For me?

  1. Ooh I just had to google Dramia and now I guess I hv to go there too haha!! Yeah I used to think my future looks bleak and I still do sometimes but oh well, I’ll always hv dramas…and alcohol ;P. I also get what you’re saying about feeling more obligated if you get more readers but really, but I think that the only person you need to please is yourself. Otherwise why bother? It’s not like we get paid to do any of this! Although, that would be awesome indeed.

    Thanks for the nom! And how bout I answer your questions here?
    1. Hmm I wouldn’t change anything actually. I’m too spooked by shows like Nine to play god. But it would be cool to go back 150 years ago to see what my hometown was like under colonial rule.
    2. YES! In my early days down the rabbit hole I made it a point to learn a new word or two every day. Then I discovered Talk to Me in Korean which has a great curriculum but towards the end of last year when things got really hectic things slowed down to nil. I have to pick up again because I want to be able to watch dramas without needing subs!
    3. Hmm I wouldn’t want to meet any actually, at least up close enough to hv a conversation. Fanmeets are fine but anything more intimate I would hesitate. I’m talking about fave actors/actresses because I wouldn’t want to burst my bubble.They could be complete idiots or horrible people for all I know and if they are I’d rather not know about it.

    1. Thank you! Interesting answers, especially the very last one. Interesting perspective! Yes, what we see in the media may not necessarily be the true self of that celebrity. Sometimes ignorance is better than the truth 🙂

  2. (I think my previous comments never made it because of tablet issues so I guess I’m commenting again!)
    Travelling is great, isn’t? It is one of my favourite things to do, even though I haven’t been to many many places. I just love it!
    And I watch dramas for the same reason as you. To escape. There is nothing better to get so immersed in a story and forget everything as long as the episode lasts!
    And something about 49days, which is probably my all time favourite drama. Did you really not like the ending? I mean apart from the fact that it was so sad I thought it made perfect sense with the story and the overall feeling of the drama. It is one of the reasons I love it o much.
    And please don’t think I’m a horrible person for liking something so sad.. 🙂

    1. Yes!! Travelling is really fun especially with the right people. Your travel companion can really make a difference to your trip! I haven’t been to many places either, partly because I keep going back to korea all the time. Need more money!!
      Regarding 49 Days, it was the one drama that made me sob till I had a headache the next day. Definitely one of my top 10 favourites! Maybe that’s why I was hoping that the lead would get rewarded for her hard work in collecting those tears. I think I’m the kind who prefers happy endings. Though I do agree that such a bittersweet ending seems more befitting of the drama, I couldn’t help but feel somewhat “cheated” that all her efforts failed to change her fate, although she did walk away with some life lessons…

  3. Hee! I should have thrown in creek as a choice. 😉 You can have fun splashing around in a creek with chances of drowning being slim to none. (Unless you slipped and fell and knocked yourself out… Though that could happen in a rain storm. Or the shower. I’ve officially over-thought this haven’t I?)

    I’ve finally got my Liebster post up — your questions were awesome, thank you! And the post is here. 🙂

  4. So sorry I completely forgot to reply back but thank you so very much for answering my questions! Yes I do agree that characters can be unrealistic because there is no wayy a person could go through such hardships like in Secret and not come out completely insane. Wow, I have the same exact problem, I’m constantly having conversations and random thoughts in my head all the time but can never verbally express it the same way as my though process. Which is the reason I turned to blogging instead 😉

Leave a Reply

