[Translation] Lee Dong Wook – Cine21 Issue no. 1433 “Single In Seoul” magazine interview

[Interview] I hope “I” am shining the brightest right now, <Single In Seoul> Lee Dong Wook

Recently, Lee Dong Wook, who has tried different genres in every work such as “Strangers from Hell” (thriller), “Tale of the Nine-Tailed” and “Tale of the Nine-Tailed 1938” (fantasy), and “Bad and Crazy” (action), is making a return to his former major, romance, through “Single in Seoul”. Youngho, played by Lee Dong Wook, is a Korean literature student who once dreamed of becoming a writer. Youngho, who has now put aside his dreams and is making a name for himself as an essay instructor, is enjoying the life of a single more than anyone else. One day, Youngho receives an offer from a publisher asking if he would like to write a book about his single life in Seoul. And he meets chief editor Hyunjin (Lim Soo Jung) at the publishing company. Like the lyrics of Kim Hyun Cheol’s song that plays in the movie, Youngho’s every moment is filled with excitement that he ‘felt for the first time in a long while.’

Q: You have mainly appeared in ensemble films such as “Happy New Year” and “Beauty Inside”. “Single in Seoul” is a film where you play the lead with a significant amount of screen time, so you probably feel differently.

I saw the completed film for the first time during the preview screening. It was nice to see myself appear for a long time on screen after a long while. I kept monitoring the reactions of the audience watching the movie for the first time from the side. The audience laughed at Youngho more than expected. It seems like a lot of people relate to Youngho.

Q: At the press conference, you said, “There are aspects of Seoul that I saw and experienced in new ways while filming the movie.” It is interesting because this is an answer given by an actor who has filmed in numerous places in Seoul and is even a Seoul native.

I’ve lived in Seoul for over 40 years, but I only went to the places I always went to. While filming this movie, I visited various places in Seoul that I normally wouldn’t go to. I remember the time I filmed a scene where I was walking on Jamsu Bridge over the Han River in the middle of the night. I always look at the Han River from a high railway bridge, but it was new to see the Han River from the same eye level. I usually pass by Gwanghwamun Square in a car, but I rarely ever alighted there. I filmed a night scene there, and many office buildings had their lights on even late at night. I once again felt a sense of awe at Korean office workers who work overtime.

Q: You’ve worked as an emcee on shows such as “Strong Heart” and “Wook Talk”, and revealed on several occasions that you dreamt of becoming a Korean language teacher during your youth, and you also obtained a high score in the language section of the CSAT exam. I assume that you are also usually aware of your sense of language. Are you secretly happy to play the role of Youngho who is a writer and essay instructor?

Youngho is definitely a character with aspects that resonated with me. Even if I don’t have a sense of language, I always feel the importance of reading print. So even though I cannot read often, I try to activate my senses by reading the newspaper every day. I’ve tried imagining the period of time that was omitted (from the movie) between Youngho, who dreamed of becoming a writer, and Youngho, who succeeded as an essay instructor. Youngho probably tried several times to make his debut as a writer, but kept failing. Youngho’s talent is writing and making others understand his writing, so I think he would have chosen to be an essay instructor as the next best option.

Q: What was attractive about the scenario?

Before “Single in Seoul”, I mainly filmed works where the genre was prominent. I haven’t done a romance work for a long time, and I also wanted to do some human acting after a long while. Isn’t melodrama a genre that needs to be supported by the actor’s vibe? I’m getting older, and I was wondering about how long will I be able to do romance works, and I thought, this is the time. It’s not that I can’t do melodramas even if I’m older, but middle-aged melodramas are seldom made in Korea right? Moreover, these days, melodrama is often added to genre films rather than the work itself being a melodrama, so I thought it would be good to shoot a movie that only talks about romance. At some point, there seems to be a tendency to think love stories are childish. But does a life without love really exist? Everyone lives while loving, right?

Q: The movie shows the two sides of first love. Weren’t you reluctant to portray the worthless side of first love?

I could relate a lot to it. Just like how Youngho and his first love have different memories, I and my first girlfriend will also remember our first love in different ways and in ways that are advantageous to each of us. Looking back, I thought the words and actions that I did based on my own logic towards my former romantic partners were cool at that time. Now that I think about it, I was so childish. I think there will be many male audiences who will watch our movie and go home and kick themselves under the blanket. (laugh)

Q: You played both Youngho in his 30s and Youngho in his 20s. In the flashback scene, it was impressive that you expressed the ‘emotions’ of someone in his 20s, rather than just acting to seem young.

I thought they should have used a child actor in the flashback scenes. It’s too much for me to act as a university student now (laughs). While playing Youngho as a college student, I also looked back on Lee Dong Wook in his 20s. I didn’t know anything back then. I thought everything I said was right and I just looked ahead at what’s in front of me. As I was someone who only realised the importance of managing myself as an actor and how I should treat other people after I passed my 30s, I assumed that Youngho would also be like that. At that time, doesn’t everyone have the absurd idea that their first love will be their last love? I hoped that kind of image could be seen in Youngho.

Q: For a period of time, you expressed your dream of directing a movie. In fact, you also have experience in directing a music video and trailer of an entertainment programme.

I’ve given up on that dream now. Having met many directors, I realised that directing is not a field that I was dreaming of. As an actor, even if I read the script and picture in my head how the scene will be materialised before I start filming, the directors always come up with brilliant shots that I had not thought of. As an actor, I sometimes suggest shots that are different from the storyboard to the director or cinematographer, and I am very happy when my ideas are reflected in the final version that is aired.

Q: Recently, it becomes an issue whenever you appear on YouTube shows like “Pinggyego” and “Salon Drip”. Besides that, you are actively using fandom platforms such as Bubble better than anyone else. I get the impression that you are constantly studying to keep up with trends.

I want to continuously challenge myself in fields other than acting. Meeting the public as actor Lee Dong Wook and as the natural person Lee Dong Wook bring me great help and joy. Since 5 or 6 years ago, “Let’s live in the present” became my motto. That’s why I often appear on YouTube, and I opened a Bubble too. I started Bubble at the recommendation of my agency’s PR team. I did it the same way as how I normally chat with my friends, and a lot of people liked it. It is also meaningful that I approach people first before the public come and finds me.

Q: Is there a reason why you set a motto?

Because if you don’t live like that, you will be eliminated. I thought that if I didn’t come to my senses in this rapidly changing world, I might find myself crash landing in a place that is unfamiliar to me. I work in a job where I constantly have to be chosen by the public. If I am unable to read the trend and remain trapped in the glory of the past, it will be difficult for me to be loved by the public. Sometimes when fans say “I love ‘Goblin’!”, I will jokingly respond “‘Goblin’ was so long ago~”. The glorious hits of the past may have made me who I am now, but the moment I become complacent there, I will stop and become stagnant. That’s why I constantly look for new characters and genres, and film without stopping. Now that I am still physically fit and less hesitant about making choices, I want to leave behind more filmography.

Source: Cine21

Translated from Korean to English by Gabby. Please credit if sharing on other platforms. Please do not duplicate my entire translation elsewhere without permission. You may translate to other languages.

Leave a comment